Buzzzzzzz…..

Today’s earth mage observation is nothing particularly profound. I haven’t had the opportunity to travel to the mountains, desert, or tide pools lately. (Well, we went to the beach near the tide pools in Laguna, but it was high tide, so we didn’t see much sea life, except a few crabs.)

But, as I’ve said many times before, you don’t have to travel to places of exceptional beauty to experience nature. Nature can be found in your own back yard. And sometimes, you find it where you least expect it.

This morning I went out to my deck to water my herbs. It’s a cool morning; the marine layer has traveled far inland, and the fog hugs the trees like a swaddled baby.

Bees don’t like fog. They don’t forage around until the temperature warms and the fog lifts. But I always imagined when worker bees weren’t searching for pollen, they returned to their hives. Not, apparently, always so. I caught this guy sleeping in my cinnamon basil plant!

A bee naps in my cinnamon basil plant...

 

...waiting for the marine layer to life so he can begin his busy day.

I woke the poor guy up with my camera, unfortunately. He slowly buzzed off, circled our peach tree, and immediately settled back onto the cinnamon basil to resume his nap.

Isn’t nature amazing?

 

About Smoky Zeidel

Smoky Zeidel is an author whose deep connection to nature is apparent in all she writes. She is the author of three novels, a short story collection, and three works of nonfiction. When not writing or exploring nature, Smoky spends time gardening, camping, meditating, and resisting the urge to speak in haiku.
This entry was posted in environment, nature, nature photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buzzzzzzz…..

  1. that is neat and interesting. the other day I saw a bee sleeping head-downward on a gayfeather. very interesting, yes.

Leave a Reply

